Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | October 21, 2009

POEM OF THE DAY: Pre-Existence

by Dora Sigerson Shorter (1866 – 1918).

Pre-Existence (1893)

We have met, you and I long ago,
Yesterday when I saw you I knew,
For the sight of the city was gone,
And the sky took an eastern blue,
Strange flowers and strange perfumes were there,
Strange birds without song flitted by,
O I loved you as woman ne’er loved
When we met long ago, you and I.
 
We have loved long ago, you and I,
Though to-day we but linger to part.
O say, do you wish to forget?
Does no answer awake in your heart?
Perhaps in the future ’tis writ
That we meet once again.  Ah, good-bye!
You forget, but I sigh for that past
Where we met and we loved, you and I.

Notes:
http://www.pgil-eirdata.org/html/pgil_datasets/authors/s/Shorter,DS/life.htm
http://www.answers.com/topic/dora-sigerson-shorter

Responses

  1. sweet poem:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

