Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | August 17, 2009

POEM OF THE DAY: God, God, God

by Paramahansa Yogananda (1893 – 1952).

God, God, God!
From the depth of slumber,
As I ascend the spiral stairway of wakefulness,
I whisper
God, God, God!

Thou art the food and when I break my fast                      5
Of nightly separation from Thee
I taste thee and mentally say
God, God, God!

No matter where I go, the spotlight of my mind
Ever keeps turning on Thee;                                            10
And in the battle din of activity my silent war cry
Is ever:
God, God, God!

When boisterous storms of trials shriek
And worries howl at me,                                                   15
I drown their noises, loudly chanting
God, God, God!

When my mind weaves dreams
With treads of memories,
Then on that magic cloth I do emboss:                               20
God, God, God!

Every night, in time of deepest sleep,
My peace dreams and calls; Joy! Joy! Joy!
And my Joy comes singing evermore:
God, God, God!                                                                 25

In waking, eating, working, dreaming, sleeping,
Serving, meditating, chanting, divinely loving,
My soul constantly hums, unheard by any:
God, God, God!

Notes:
http://www.dlshq.org/saints/yogananda.htm
http://www.yogananda-srf.org/py-life/index.html

Leave a Reply

Categories

