Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | June 26, 2009

POEM OF THE DAY: To My Friends Li Dan and Yuanxi

by Wei Ying-wu (ca. 737 – 791).

To My Friends Li Dan and Yuanxi

We met last among flowers, among flowers we parted,
And here, a year later, there are flowers again;
But, with ways of the world too strange to foretell,
Spring only brings me grief and fatigue.
I am sick, and I think of my home in the country-                       5
Ashamed to take pay while so many are idle.
…In my western tower, because of your promise,
I have watched the full moons come and go.

Notes:
http://www.renditions.org/renditions/authors/weiyw.html

Leave a Reply

Categories

