Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | June 2, 2009

POEM OF THE DAY: And What Shall You Say?

by Joseph S. Cotter, Jr. (1895 – 1919).

And What Shall You Say?
 
Brother, come! 
And let us go unto our God. 
And when we stand before Him 
I shall say— 
“Lord, I do not hate,                                  5
I am hated. 
I scourge no one, 
I am scourged. 
I covet no lands, 
My lands are coveted.                              10
I mock no peoples, 
My people are mocked.” 
And, brother, what shall you say? 
 
Notes:
http://www.lfpl.org/western/htms/cotter.htm
http://www.answers.com/topic/joseph-seamon-cotter-jr

Leave a Reply

Categories

