Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | May 10, 2009

POEM OF THE DAY: On Friends and Enemies

by Sa’di Shirazi (c. 1213-1291).

On Friends and Enemies

I am displeased with the company of friends
To whom my bad qualities appear to be good;
They fancy my faults are virtues and perfection;
My thorns they believe to be rose and jessamine.
Say! where is the bold and quick enemy                          5
To make me aware of my defects?

(transl. by Edward S. Holden)

Notes:
http://www.kirjasto.sci.fi/sadi.htm
http://www.angelfire.com/rnb/bashiri/Poets/Sadi.html

Leave a Reply

Categories

