Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | May 6, 2009

POEM OF THE DAY: Tz’u 10 (Exile)

by Li Qingzhao (1084 – 1151).

 

Tz’u No. 10 (Exile)

 

Soft breezes, mild sunshine,

  spring is still young.

The sudden change of the light

  brightened my spirit.

 

But upon awakening from slumber,                               5

  I felt the chill air;

The plum flower withered in my hair.

 

Where can I call my native land?

Forget – I cannot, except in wine

  when I drown my care.                                                    10

 

Incense was lighted when I went to sleep;

Though the embers are now cold,

  the warmth of wine still burns on.

 

Notes:

http://home.infionline.net/~ddisse/liquinzh.html

http://www.chinapage.com/liqing-poetry.html

Leave a Reply

Categories

