Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | April 11, 2009

POEM OF THE DAY: Easter Wings

by George Herbert (1593 – 1633 ).

 

Easter wings (1633)

 

Lord, who createdst man in wealth and store,

   Though foolishly he lost the same,

      Decaying more and more,

        Till he became

           Most poore:                                                                  5

           With  thee

        Oh let me rise

   As larks, harmoniously,

  And sing this day  thy victories:

Then shall the fall further the flight in me.                     10

 

My  tender  age  in  sorrow   did   beginne:

   And still with sicknesses and shame

      Thou  didst  so  punish  sinne,

         That  I  became

           Most thinne.                                                                15

           With  thee

        Let me combine

      And feel this day thy victorie:

   For,  if  I  imp  my  wing  on  thine

Affliction shall  advance the  flight in  me.                        20

 

Notes:

http://www.luminarium.org/sevenlit/herbert/

http://www.georgeherbert.org/life/bio.html

Leave a Reply

Categories

