Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | April 3, 2009

POEM OF THE DAY: Beholding Her

by Luis de Camoens (~1525 – 1580).

 

Beholding Her

 

When I behold you, Lady! when my eyes

Dwell on the deep enjoyment of your sight,

I give my spirit to that one delight,

And earth appears to me a Paradise.

And when I hear you speak, and see you smile,                        5

Full satisfied, absorb’d, my centr’d mind

Deems all the world’s vain hopes and joys the while

As empty as the unsubstantial wind.

Lady! I feel your charms, yet dare not raise

To that high theme the unequal song of praise,–                    10

A power for that to language was not given;

Nor marvel I, when I those beauties view,

Lady! that He, whose power created you,

Could form the stars and yonder glorious heaven.

 

(Transl. by Robert Southey, 1774 – 1843)

 

Notes:

http://cvc.instituto-camoes.pt/literatura/eng/CAMOES.HTM

http://www.probertencyclopaedia.com/cgi-bin/res.pl?keyword=Luis+de+Camoens&offset=0

Leave a Reply

Categories

