Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | February 21, 2009

POEM OF THE DAY: The Dancing Socrates

by Julian Tuwim (1894 – 1953).

 

The Dancing Socrates (1929)

 

I roast in the sun, old wretch…

I lie, and yawn, I stretch.

Old am I, but full of pep:

When I take a slug from the cup

I sing.                                                                             

My ancient bones bask in the sun’s glow,

And my curly, wise, grey head.

In that wise head, like woods in spring

Hums and hums a wiser wine.

Eternal thoughts flow and flow,

Like time.

 

 

(Translated by A Giloe)

 

Notes:

http://www.spiritus-temporis.com/julian-tuwim/

http://www.poemhunter.com/julian-tuwim/biography/

Leave a Reply

Categories

