Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | January 11, 2009

POEM OF THE DAY: Songs of Innocence

by William Blake (1757 – 1827).

 

Songs of Innocence—Introduction  (1789)

 

Piping down the valleys wild,

Piping songs of peasant glee,

On a cloud I saw a child,

And he, laughing, said to me:

 

‘Pipe a song about a lamb!’                         5

So I piped with merry cheer.

‘Piper, pipe that song again;’

So I piped: he wept to hear.

 

‘Drop thy pipe, thy happy pipe;

Sing thy songs of happy cheer!’               10

So I sang the same again,

While he wept with joy to hear.

 

‘Piper, sit thee down and write

In a book, that all may read.’

So he vanished from my sight;                 15

And I plucked a hollow reed,

 

And I made a rural pen,

And I stain’d the water clear,

And I wrote my happy songs

Every child may joy to hear.                     20 

 

Notes:

http://www.kirjasto.sci.fi/wblake.htm

http://www.britainexpress.com/History/bio/blake.htm

Leave a Reply

Categories

