Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | October 10, 2008

POEM OF THE DAY: I Know My Soul

by Claude McKay (1889 – 1948).

 

I Know My Soul

 

I plucked my soul out of its secret place,

And held it to the mirror of my eye,

To see it like a star against the sky,

A twitching body quivering in space,

A spark of passion shining on my face.                          5

And I explored it to determine why

This awful key to my infinity

Conspires to rob me of sweet joy and grace.

And if the sign may not be fully read,

If I can comprehend but not control,                           10

I need not gloom my days with futile dread,

Because I see a part and not the whole.

Contemplating the strange, I’m comforted

By this narcotic thought: I know my soul.

 

Notes:

http://www.english.uiuc.edu/maps/poets/m_r/mckay/mckay.htm

http://www.pbs.org/wnet/aaworld/reference/articles/claude_mckay.html

Leave a Reply

Categories

