Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | September 4, 2008

POEM OF THE DAY: As a Perfume

by Arthur Symons (1865 – 1945).

 

As a Perfume

 

As a perfume doth remain

In the folds where it hath lain,

So the thought of you, remaining

Deeply folded in my brain,

Will not leave me: all things leave me:                       5

    You remain.

 

Other thoughts may come and go,

Other moments I may know

That shall waft me, in their going,

As a breath blown to and fro,                                     10

Fragrant memories: fragrant memories

    Come and go.

 

Only thoughts of you remain

In my heart where they have lain,

Perfumed thoughts of you, remaining,                    15

A hid sweetness, in my brain.

Others leave me: all things leave me:

    You remain. 

 

Notes:

http://www.victorianweb.org/authors/symons/intro.html

http://www.library.ubc.ca/spcoll/Colbeck/writers/symons.htm

Leave a Reply

Categories

