Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | August 29, 2008

POEM OF THE DAY: If You’ve Seen A Mount of Sea Foam

by Jose Marti (1853 – 1895).

 

If You’ve Seen A Mount of Sea Foam (Verse V)

 

If you’ve seen a mount of sea foam,

It is my verse you have seen:

My verse a mountain has been

And a feathered fan become.

 

My verse is like a dagger                                    5

At whose hilt a flower grows:

My verse is a fount which flows

With a sparkling coral water.

 

My verse is a gentle green

And also a flaming red:                                     10

My verse is a deer wounded

Seeking forest cover unseen.

 

My verse is brief and sincere,

And to the brave will appeal:

With all the strength of the steel                  15

With which the sword will appear.

 

Notes:

http://www.kirjasto.sci.fi/josemart.htm

http://www.historyofcuba.com/history/havana/marti.htm

Leave a Reply

Categories

