Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | August 16, 2008

POEM OF THE DAY: The Gift

by Rabindranath Tagore (1861 – 1941).

 

The Gift

 

If you would have it so,

I will end my singing.

 

If it sets your heart aflutter,

I will take away my eyes from your face.

 

If it suddenly startles you in your walk,                         5

I will step aside and take another path.

 

If it confuses you in your flower-weaving,

I will shun your lonely garden.

 

If it makes the water wanton and wild,

I will not row my boat by your bank.                           10

 

Notes:

http://nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/literature/laureates/1913/tagore-bio.html

http://www.schoolofwisdom.com/tagore-bio.html

Leave a Reply

Categories

