Posted by: W. E. Poplaski | July 21, 2008

POEM OF THE DAY: Voices

by Olivia Ward Bush-Banks (1869 – 1944).

 

Voices

 

I stand upon the haunted plain

 Of vanished day and year,

And ever o’er its gloomy waste

 Some strange, sad voice I hear.

Some voice from out the shadowed Past;               5

 And one I call Regret,

And one I know is Misspent Hours,

 Whose memory lingers yet.

 

Then Failure speaks in bitter tones,

 And Grief, with all its woes;                                      10

Remorse, whose deep and cruel stings

 My painful thoughts disclose.

Thus do these voices speak to me,

 And flit like shadows past;

My spirit falters in despair,                                         15

 And tears flow thick and fast.

 

But when, within the wide domain

 Of Future Day and Year

I stand, and o’er its sunlit Plain

 A sweeter Voice I hear,                                               20

Which bids me leave the darkened Past

 And crush its memory,–

I’ll listen gladly, and obey

 The Voice of Opportunity. 

 

Notes:

http://www.aaregistry.com/detail.php?id=2473

http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/bush/poems/original-poems.html

Leave a Reply

Categories

